Commission for International Church Affairs

The Commission for International Church Affairs has responsibility for the international relations of the German Bishops’ Conference, with the primary focus being on the cooperation with continental, regional and national bishops’ conferences. The Commission is entrusted with the task of coordinating and steering – above the diocesan level – the international activities of the Catholic Church in Germany, in particular the work of the aid agencies of the Church. The Commission addresses matters of interreligious dialogue and cooperates closely with the German Commission for Justice and Peace in the fields of development, peace and human rights.


The Commission for International Church Affairs has set up the following Sub-Commissions:

 Commission for International Church Affairs (X)

  • Dr. Ludwig Schick, Archbishop of Bamberg, President
  • Wolfgang Ipolt, Bishop of Görlitz, Vice President
  • Reinhard Cardinal Marx, Archbishop of Munich and Freising
  • Dr. Heiner Koch, Archbishop in Berlin
  • Dr. Stephan Ackermann, Bishop of Trier
  • Dr. Franz-Josef Overbeck, Bishop of Essen
  • Petro Kryk, Bishop, Apostolic Exarch for Ukrainian Catholics, Munich
  • Dr. Johannes Bündgens, Auxiliary Bishop in Aachen
  • Otto Georgens, Auxiliary Bishop in Speyer
  • Dr. Bernhard Haßlberger, Auxiliary Bishop in Munich and Freising
  • Dr. Reinhard Hauke, Auxiliary Bishop in Erfurt
  • Dr. Hans-Jochen Jaschke, Auxiliary Bishop in Hamburg
  • Matthias König, Auxiliary Bishop in Paderborn
  • Reinhard Pappenberger, Auxiliary Bishop in Regensburg
  • Thomas Maria Renz, Auxiliary Bishop in Rottenburg-Stuttgart
  • Ludger Schepers, Auxiliary Bishop in Essen
  • Dr. Stefan Zekorn, Auxiliary Bishop in Münster

Last update: 2015/09/19

Alle Rechte vorbehalten © 2016 Deutsche Bischofskonferenz