Central Committee of German Catholics (ZDK)

The structure of the lay apostolate in the Church in Germany has, in contrast to „Catholic Action“, as it is known in other countries, developed a character which seamlessly combines independence with loyalty to the Church and commitment within the Church with social and political action. The multifaceted organisation of lay people focuses on the „Central Committee of German Catholics" (ZdK) which is active nationwide.

It is the body recognised by the German Bishops’ Conference in the sense of the Vatican Council’s Decree on the Apostolate of the Laity (No. 26) to coordinate the work of the various lay associations and enterprises and to assist the apostolic work of the Church.

The ZdK assembles the representatives of diocesan councils and Catholic associations, as well as institutions of the lay apostolate and personalities from the Church, politics and society. It observes the developments in social, state and church life and represents the interests of the Catholics in the public eye. The ZdK encourages the apostolic work of the Church and of the Catholics in society.

The ZdK has a say in Church decisions at a supra-diocesan level and advises the German Bishops’ Conference on social, state and Church matters. The link between the bishops and the lay representatives is formed by the Joint Conference which was established by the Würzburg Synod in 1975. Ten representatives of the Bishops’ Conference and ten members of the ZdK participate in the Joint Conference.

Another function of the ZdK is to prepare, coordinate and support joint initiatives and events such as the Katholikentage. In addition, it represents the interests of the German Catholics at international level.

Alle Rechte vorbehalten © 2017 Deutsche Bischofskonferenz

Zentralkomitee der deutschen Katholiken

Die Struktur des Laienapostolates hat in der Kirche in Deutschland im Unterschied zur "Katholischen Aktion", wie sie in anderen Ländern bekannt ist, eine Prägung entwickelt, die Eigenständigkeit mit Loyalität zur Kirche und innerkirchliches Engagement mit gesellschaftlichem und politischem Wirken bruchlos verbindet. Die vielfältige Organisation der Laien bündelt sich im bundesweit tätigen "Zentralkomitee der deutschen Katholiken" (ZdK).

Es ist das von der Deutschen Bischofskonferenz anerkannte Organ im Sinne des Konzilsdekrets über das Apostolat der Laien (Nr. 26) zur Koordinierung der Kräfte des Laienapostolats und zur Förderung der apostolischen Tätigkeit der Kirche.
Das ZdK ist der Zusammenschluss von Vertretern der Diözesanräte und der katholischen Verbände sowie von Institutionen des Laienapostolats und Persönlichkeiten aus Kirche, Politik und Gesellschaft. Das ZdK beobachtet die Entwicklungen im gesellschaftlichen, staatlichen und kirchlichen Leben und vertritt die Anliegen der Katholiken in der Öffentlichkeit. Es gibt Anregungen für das apostolische Wirken der Kirche und der Katholiken in der Gesellschaft.

Das ZdK wirkt an kirchlichen Entscheidungen auf überdiözesaner Ebene mit und berät die Deutsche Bischofskonferenz in Fragen des gesellschaftlichen, staatlichen und kirchlichen Lebens. Dazu dient insbesondere die von der Würzburger Synode 1975 beschlossene Gemeinsame Konferenz, die sich aus je zehn Vertretern der Bischofskonferenz und des ZdK zusammensetzt.

Zu den weiteren Aufgaben des ZdK gehört die Vorbereitung und Durchführung gemeinsamer Initiativen und Veranstaltungen wie die Deutschen Katholikentage. Außerdem nimmt es die Anliegen und Aufgaben der deutschen Katholiken im Ausland und auf internationaler Ebene wahr.

Alle Rechte vorbehalten © 2017 Deutsche Bischofskonferenz

Sekretariat der Deutschen Bischofskonferenz | DBK.de | pressestelle(at)dbk.de | Kaiserstrasse 161 | 53113 Bonn | Telefon: 0228 103-214 | Fax: 0228 103-254