Social Responsibility

Tradition of Catholic Social Doctrine in Germany

Catholic social doctrine and the Christian social movement have a long tradition in Germany. Their primary focus is on a reasonable order of social organization and social justice.

History and important representatives

Wilhelm Emmanuel Freiherr von Ketteler © KNA-Bild
Wilhelm Emmanuel Freiherr von Ketteler © KNA-Bild

Catholic social doctrine and the Christian social movement have been influenced by members of the clergy and lay Catholics alike. The Bishop of Mainz, Wilhelm Emmanuel von Ketteler (1811-1877), played a pioneering role with his social policy ideas and his demands with regard to resolving the “social question”. His ideas had a direct effect on the social and political programme of Catholicism. Adolph Kolping (1813–1865) promoted the welfare of craft and trade journeymen. His main concern was the compatibility of working and having a family, and it still lives on in numerous initiatives of the “Kolpingwerk”.

Through the German Centre Party, the Catholics had a strong influence on social welfare legislation at the time of the German Empire as well as in the Weimar Republic. From the 19th century on a broad area of social responsibility was opened up to Catholic lay people in the Catholic labour movement.

Through its main proponents Catholic social doctrine gained a prominence of its own in Germany. Heinrich Pesch SJ (1854–1926) is considered the founder of Christian “solidarism”, formulating a concept of society somewhere between “liberalism” and “socialism”.

Franz Hitze (1851–1921), a priest and social politician, sharply criticised industrial capitalism and was a co-founder of the “People’s Association for Catholic Germany” (1890–1933), a grass-roots organisation which awakened the social conscience of German Catholics and worked towards their social integration. Heinrich Brauns (1868–1939), a priest and for many years Reich Labour Minister, introduced unemployment insurance in Germany in 1927.

Oswald von Nell-Breuning © KNA-Bild

The two Jesuits, Oswald von Nell-Breuning (1890–1991) and Gustav Gundlach (1892–1963), exerted key influence on the social thinking of German Catholicism in the early and middle years of the Federal Republic. Gundlach formulated the subsidiarity principle in the encyclical “Quadragesimo Anno” (1931). It says that (financial) matters ought to be handled by the smallest competent authorities such as communities and municipalities themselves. Only when a particular task cannot be undertaken adequately by a ‘low’ level will it be handed ‘up’ to a higher level of government.

Cardinal Joseph Höffner (1906–1987) was a highly regarded exponent of Christian social science and it was a prominent achievement of him to have kept Catholic social doctrine on course in an era of radical moral and social changes.



After 1945

The years 1933 to 1945 were not only a serious setback for social and political Catholicism in Germany, in many cases they constituted the termination and destruction of a long tradition. Reconstruction and new construction after the Second World War took place in the context of transformed social, political and economic conditions. Following the criminal Nazi regime there was a need to return to the inviolable dignity of man and basic Christian values as the foundation of society. The Basic Law of 1949 was an example of a value-based constitution. Politically and socially committed Christians played an important part in building the German welfare state. They succeeded in translating an understanding of human rights based on natural law and a view of society based on the principles of solidarity and subsidiarity into political reality. The socialist dictatorship established in the eastern part of German after 1945 prevented any free development there.

The activities of lay Catholicism were grouped together in the Central Committee of German Catholics founded in 1952. The Central Committee has been the source of a large number of social policy ideas and initiatives. The German Bishops’ Conference on 12 February 1963 established the Catholic Social Science Centre in Mönchengladbach <www.ksz.de> to deal with social questions and until today this Centre enjoys an international reputation as an influential voice of Catholic social teaching.

German society today is characterised by far-reaching processes of secularisation, pluralisation and individualisation. In a country with about 25 million Catholics and nearly just as many Evangelical Christians, this constitutes a challenge to the two major churches. In the recent past, the Evangelical and the Catholic Churches have taken joint stances on basic social, political and economic issues such as the validity of basic values, protection of life, responsibility for preserving the nature of Sundays, overcoming unemployment, dealing with property problems in the new states, as well as on migration and the integration of foreigners.

Alle Rechte vorbehalten © 2017 Deutsche Bischofskonferenz

Soziale Verantwortung

Die Tradition der Katholischen Soziallehre in Deutschland

Die Katholische Soziallehre und die christlich-soziale Bewegung haben in Deutschland eine lange Tradition. Ihnen geht es um eine vernünftige Ordnung des gesellschaftlichen Zusammenlebens und um soziale Gerechtigkeit.

Geschichte und wichtige Vertreter

Die Katholische Soziallehre und die christlich-soziale Bewegung wurden von Geistlichen und Laien gleichermaßen geprägt. Bahnbrechend in seinen sozialpolitischen Ideen und Forderungen zur Lösung der „sozialen Frage“ war der Mainzer Bischof Wilhelm Emmanuel von Ketteler (1811–1877), dessen Vorstellungen unmittelbar auf das Programm des sozialen und politischen Katholizismus wirkten. Um das soziale Schicksal der Handwerksgesellen hat sich Adolph Kolping (1813–1865) verdient gemacht. Seine Sorge galt vor allem der Vereinbarkeit von Familie und Beruf, die heute in zahlreichen Initiativen des Kolpingwerkes weiterlebt.

Über die deutsche Zentrumspartei haben die Katholiken wesentlich auf die Sozialgesetzgebung im Kaiserreich wie auch in der Weimarer Republik eingewirkt. In der katholischen Arbeiterbewegung erschloss sich seit dem 19. Jahrhundert den katholischen Laien ein weites Feld sozialer Verantwortung.

Die katholische Soziallehre gewann durch ihre Hauptvertreter in Deutschland ein eigenes Profil. Heinrich Pesch SJ (1854–1926) gilt als Begründer des christlichen „Solidarismus“, der zwischen „Liberalismus“ und „Sozialismus“ die Konzeption einer eigenständigen Gesellschaftsauffassung entwarf.

Der Priester und Sozialpolitiker Franz Hitze (1851–1921) übte scharfe Kritik am Industriekapitalismus und war Mitbegründer des „Volksvereins für das katholische Deutschland“ (1890–1933), einer Massenorganisation, die das soziale Gewissen der deutschen Katholiken weckte und deren gesellschaftliche Integration sich zum Ziel setzte. Der Priester und langjährige Reichsarbeitsminister Heinrich Brauns (1868–1939) führte 1927 die Arbeitslosenversicherung in Deutschland ein.

Oswald von Nell-Breuning © KNA-Bild

Die beiden Jesuiten Oswald von Nell-Breuning (1890–1991) und Gustav Gundlach (1892–1963) haben das soziale Denken im deutschen Katholizismus der frühen und mittleren Bundesrepublik entscheidend geprägt. Auf Gundlach geht die Formulierung des Subsidiaritätsprinzips in der Enzyklika „Quadragesimo Anno“ (1931) zurück. Dieses Prinzip besagt, dass sich kleinere Einheiten wie die Gemeinde oder die Stadt bei (finanziellen) Problemen zuerst selbst helfen müssen. Erst wenn sie damit überfordert sind, springt eine übergeordnete Ebene wie das Bundesland oder der Staat ein.
Kardinal Joseph Höffner (1906–1987) war ein hoch angesehener Vertreter der Christlichen Sozialwissenschaft, dessen Verdienst nicht zuletzt darin bestand, die katholische Soziallehre in einer Epoche geistiger und gesellschaftlicher Umbrüche auf Kurs gehalten zu haben.

Nach 1945

Die Jahre 1933–1945 bedeuteten für den sozialen und politischen Katholizismus in Deutschland nicht nur einen tiefen Einschnitt, sondern vielfach auch den Abbruch und die Zerstörung einer langen Traditionslinie. Der Neu- und Wiederaufbau nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg stand im Zeichen veränderter gesellschaftlicher, politischer und wirtschaftlicher Rahmenbedingungen. Nach dem Unrechtssystem des Nationalsozialismus galt es, sich auf die unantastbare Würde des Menschen und die christlichen Grundwerte als Fundament des Gemeinwesens zurückzubesinnen. Ausdruck einer wertbestimmten Verfassung ist das Grundgesetz von 1949. Der deutsche Sozialstaat wurde mit wesentlicher Beteiligung von politisch und sozial engagierten Christen aufgebaut. Hier gelang es, ein naturrechtlich fundiertes Menschenrechtsverständnis und eine an den Prinzipien der Solidarität und Subsidiarität orientierte Gesellschaftsauffassung in die politische Wirklichkeit umzusetzen. Die sozialistische Diktatur, die sich nach 1945 im östlichen Teil Deutschlands etablierte, hat dort eine freiheitliche Entwicklung verhindert.

Die Aktivitäten des Laienkatholizismus wurden in dem 1952 gegründeten Zentralkomitee der deutschen Katholiken gebündelt. Vom Zentralkomitee sind eine Vielzahl sozial- und gesellschaftspolitischer Anregungen und Initiativen ausgegangen. Die Deutsche Bischofskonferenz gründete zur Wahrnehmung der sozialen Fragen am 12. Februar 1963 die Katholische Sozialwissenschaftliche Zentralstelle mit Sitz in Mönchengladbach. Sie gilt bis heute als gewichtige Stimme der katholischen Sozialverkündigung mit internationalem Ruf.

Auch die deutsche Gesellschaft ist heute von tiefreichenden Säkularisierungs-, Pluralisierungs- und Individualisierungsprozessen geprägt. In einem Land, in dem rund 25 Millionen Katholiken und etwa ebenso viele evangelische Christen leben, stellt dies eine Herausforderung für die beiden großen Kirchen dar. In jüngerer Zeit haben die evangelische und katholische Kirche zu gesellschaftlichen, politischen und wirtschaftlichen Grundfragen gemeinsam Stellung genommen, so zur Geltung der Grundwerte, zum Schutz des Lebens, zur Verantwortung für den Sonntag, zur Überwindung der Arbeitslosigkeit, zur Eigentumsproblematik in den neuen Bundesländern, zur Migration und zur Integration der Ausländer.

www.zdk.de
www.ksz.de

Kommission für gesellschaftliche und soziale Fragen: Das Soziale neu denken

Für eine langfristig angelegte Reformpolitik
Download PDF

Kommission für gesellschaftliche und soziale Fragen: Mehr Beteiligungsgerechtigkeit
Download PDF

Wirtschaftsordnung und Wirtschaftsethik. Richtlinien der Katholischen Soziallehre
Download PDF

Alle Rechte vorbehalten © 2016 Deutsche Bischofskonferenz

Sekretariat der Deutschen Bischofskonferenz | DBK.de | pressestelle(at)dbk.de | Kaiserstrasse 161 | 53113 Bonn | Telefon: 0228 103-214 | Fax: 0228 103-254