The Catholic Church in Germany

Roughly two-thirds of the more than 80 million Germans were Christians in 2013. 24.2 million belong to the Catholic Church; 23.4 million people belong to the Protestant Church in Germany. Added to this are members of Protestant Free Churches (roughly 333,000), Orthodox Churches (1.4 million) and other Christian Churches (more than 500,000 - Evangelical Church in Germany: survey 2012).

Another third of Germans are either non-denominational or belong to another religion. These include, for instance, members of the two other monotheistic religions, the Muslims (estimated at 4 million - Federal Office for Migration and Refugees: survey 2009) amd the members of the Jewish communities (roughly 101,000 - Central Welfare Agency of the Jews in Germany: survey 2013).

The Catholics

There are 1.2 billion Catholics worldwide. At 24.2 million, their number had decreased in Germany in 2013 to just under one-third of the German population (29,9 percent). They accounted for 42.7 percent prior to reunification in 1990; the share made up by non-denominationals markedly increased after reunification. Their are major regional differences here which are caused, firstly, by Protestants being dominant in the Northern areas, as well as by the political system in Eastern Germany prior to 1990.

Between three and nine percent of the population in the Eastern Federal Länder are Catholic, depending on the region, and in the Northern Federal Länder between six percent (Schleswig-Holstein) and 17 percent (Lower Saxony). The share of Catholics is much larger in the Southern Federal Länder: 54 percent in Bavaria, 62 percent in the Saarland.

This fall in the number of German Catholics is due, firstly, to the demographic developments in society as a whole – more Catholics are buried per year than are received through baptism, and secondly, the share is reduced by reunications of membership.

At the beginning of the 21st century the Church is challenged by manifold, immense social changes. Today it cannot be taken for granted that people belong to a church and that they practice their faith. This is shown in the many cases of people leaving the church. In 2013 178.805 people left the Catholic Church in Germany.

Alle Rechte vorbehalten © 2014 Deutsche Bischofskonferenz

Katholische Kirche in Deutschland

Im Jahr 2013 sind etwas weniger als zwei Drittel der über 80 Millionen Deutschen Christen. Der römisch-katholischen Kirche gehören 24,2 Millionen, der Evangelischen Kirche in Deutschland 23,4 Millionen Menschen an. Dazu kommen Angehörige evangelischer Freikirchen (rund 333.000), orthodoxer Kirchen (1,4 Millionen) sowie anderer christlicher Kirchen und Gemeinschaften (über 500.000) (EKD, Erhebung 2012).

Mehr als ein Drittel der Deutschen ist entweder konfessionslos oder andersgläubig. Hierzu zählen etwa die Angehörigen der beiden anderen monotheistischen Religionen neben dem Christentum, die Muslime (geschätzte 4 Millionen, Bundesamt für Migration und Flüchtlinge: Erhebung 2009) und die Mitglieder der jüdischen Gemeinden (rund 101.000, Zentralwohlfahrtsstelle der Juden in Deutschland: Erhebung 2013).

Die Katholiken

Weltweit gibt es 1,2 Milliarden Katholiken. In Deutschland stellen sie im Jahr 2012 mit 24,2 Millionen rund 30 Prozent der deutschen Bevölkerung (29,9 Prozent). Vor der Wiedervereinigung 1990 waren es 42,7 Prozent, nach der Wiedervereinigung hat sich der Anteil der Konfessionslosen deutlich erhöht.

Dabei gibt es große regionale Unterschiede, die zum einen auf die protestantische Prägung in den eher nördlichen Bereichen, aber auch auf das politische System Ostdeutschlands vor 1990 zurückzuführen sind.

In den östlichen Bundesländern sind je nach Region zwischen drei und neun Prozent der Bevölkerung katholisch, in den nördlichen Bundesländern zwischen sechs Prozent (Schleswig-Holstein) und 18 Prozent (Niedersachsen). In den südlichen Bundesländern liegt der Katholikenanteil erheblich höher: 54 Prozent in Bayern, 62 Prozent im Saarland.
Dieser Rückgang der Anzahl der deutschen Katholiken liegt zum einen an der gesamtgesellschaftlichen demographischen Entwicklung – es werden jährlich mehr Katholiken bestattet als durch Taufen hinzukommen –, zum anderen verändern Austritte die Bilanz.

Die Kirche ist zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts durch vielfältige, unübersehbare gesellschaftliche Veränderungen herausgefordert. Dass es heute nicht mehr selbstverständlich ist, einer Kirche anzugehören und dem Glauben im Leben Raum zu geben, zeigen nicht zuletzt die Austrittszahlen, die nach einem mehrjährigen rückläufigen Trend in 2013 auf 178.805 angestiegen sind (2012: 118.335).

Alle Rechte vorbehalten © 2014 Deutsche Bischofskonferenz

Sekretariat der Deutschen Bischofskonferenz | DBK.de | pressestelle(at)dbk.de | Kaiserstrasse 161 | 53113 Bonn | Telefon: 0228 103-214 | Fax: 0228 103-254